Puzzle Page Of Horrors.

Last Halloween I pitched a mini-strip called ‘Horrornation Street’, not an original idea – I think a similar strip was in Shiver & Shake – but I thought it was a funny idea nonetheless.  The Beano asked me to turn it into a puzzle instead, which I did.

It was never printed, and since it contains Ken Barlow I doubt it ever will be – so here it is in it’s entirety for the first time!

HorrornationSt

Unfortunately I was going to miss the deadline for completion. A communications cock-up meant finished it anyway, the day after it went to print. My own fault, but that’s a lesson I won’t need to learn twice!

Anyway, the page was handed over to the legendary Lew Stringer (of Combat Colin, Brickman, Pathetic Sharks and Robocapers fame). He mentions it on his blog here.

It was amazing to see my (sort of) idea drawn by another artist, especially Lew Stringer, who I had been a fan of since first reading Combat Colin in Action Force comic back in the late 80s then moving on to Viz‘s  Felix And His Amazing Underpants and the aforementioned Pathetic Sharks in the early 90s.

I finally wrote a bit of a fan letter to Lew recently.  He told me he was working on a new Pathetic Sharks for Viz and that even though he’d been in the business for over 30 years, he still considers himself a newbie compared to the ‘proper’ artists he grew up with.

Something tells me I’ll be feeling the same way if I’m still drawing in 30 years.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Halloween, Lew Stringer, Puzzle Pages, The Beano

2 responses to “Puzzle Page Of Horrors.

  1. Hi Stu! Thanks for the mention. I’m afraid I didn’t know about your version of the puzzle page before I did mine. I’ve just checked my emails and I was just given the name ‘Horrornation Street’ and asked to create a puzzle page with that theme. I really like ‘Rot Cropper, Zombie Stopper’ though! Wish I’d thought of that one. 🙂

    • Quite alright Lew! I hadn’t realised they wanted it for Halloween. When I said I wouldn’t have it ready I took that to mean I’d still be doing it. Crossed wires on my part entirely, but no harm done.

      I preferred your version anyway! 🙂

Leave a Reply

