They All Know Him.

If you know me or follow me on Twitter (@TeenWolfToo) you’ll already be well aware of my obsession with Citizen Khan, the BBC sitcom set in Sparkhill, Birmingham – described by its lead character Mr Khan (Adil Ray) as “the capital of British Pakistan.” Citizen Khan follows the trials and tribulations of Mr Khan, a loud-mouthed, patriarchal, self-appointed community leader – “They all know me!” – and his long suffering family.

When series 1 started last year Mr Khan made a cameo appearance in The Dangerous Life Of A Paperboy in The Dandy.

Image

Unfortunately, The Dandy wasn’t happy with the portrayal of a Pakistani newsagent, so I edited the strip making him look a little Jewish!

ImageThe strip is also notable for a bargain bin full of copies of Freak Out, the first horror/comedy by funnyman Dan Palmer (my cousin, see here for details) and images of Chesney Hawkes and Baninja from Andy Fanton‘s The Carrotty Kid both appearing in the newsagent.

I tweeted Citizen Khan star Adil Ray (@adilray) the cartoon of Mr Khan suggesting that he branched out into “Khan-toons” and pitch Desi The Menace to The Beano. I was really pleased that the cartoon proved very popular with the shows fans when Adil and Mr Khan himself (@therealmrkhan) retweeted it.

Yesterday I was doodling Spider-Man while working on some scripts and I hit upon a very silly idea which refused to go away until I drew it.

Citizen Khan

“Spider-Khan, Spider-Khan, community leader from Pakistan!” 

Citizen Khan series 2 is on BBC One at 9.30 every Friday night, the DVD of series 1 is available now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Citizen Khan, Comic Strips, Parodies, The Dandy

Leave a Reply

